Rogate C.E. Primary School

working in partnership with Rake C.E. Primary School


Excite, Engage, Empower

Living life in all its fullness

Home     Our School     Meet The Staff

Governors     Forest School

 Calendar     Newsletter     Term Dates

   RSFF     Statutory Information

The School Day    Curriculum    Links

In The News     Contact

Our Governors

David Bertwistle

Deborah Burles

The role of the governors

The governing body is a group of volunteers who bring skills from a variety of backgrounds to support the school and its head teacher by:

The governors therefore provide strategic leadership and accountability in the school and they are responsible for appointing the head teacher and deputy head teacher, who have the responsibility of running the school.

The governors visit the school frequently to keep in touch and to fulfil their legal responsibilities. They keep themselves informed by using professional information resources, by getting advice from experts and by attending training sessions organised by the county council and other organisations.

You can find out more about what governors do from the National Governors’ Association here.

The governors of Rogate CE Primary School may be contacted by email which forwards to the two co-chairs of governors (Hannah Pasfield and Neil Ryder)

Constitution of the governing body

As a Church of England-controlled school, we have five kinds of governor:

We also have two (non-voting) associate governors appointed for specific skills and experience that benefit the school.

Governor details 2018-19

Fiona Dix

Rev Edward Doyle

Stephanie Garwood

Rita Harrison-Roach

Max Harwood

Chris Hawker

Sarah O’Malley

Pippa Bass


Neil Ryder

Hannah Pasfield

Meeting Structure

There are currently no committees and all members of the governing body attend every meeting. This is to ensure that all governors have a full understanding of all of the key aspects necessary for good governance.  

Minutes of the Governors’ Meetings:

Made in West Sussex with

Serif WebPlus X8 in 2019